Golden Wattle Bush Poetry Competition and State Championship

    It’s time to polish up your very best words, folks, and have your poems ready for submission for this major written bush poetry competition.

    Click here for competition information, prize information and entry form.

    New Life Memberships awarded!

    Long-time members (and top bush poets), Noel Stallard (OAM) and John Best (Long John), were awarded life membership of North Pine Bush Poets at the 2020 AGM in December. The awards recognise the invaluable contribution both poets have made to the club and to Australian bush poetry in general over many years. Congratulations, Noel and John, and thank you!

    Committee changes

    The 2020 AGM held in December saw the election of a new committee member, Kay Gorring, who replaces John (the Joker) Pampling. A warm welcome to Kay, and many thanks to John for your contribution to the committee over the last few years.

    Ian McDonald decided 3 years of being president was enough but is still a committee member. Doc Bland was elected President, while Mick Martin was elected Vice-President, and Mal Beveridge and Mike Gilmour continue in their roles as Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

    Congratulations to our North Pine poets at the Logan championships!

    The Logan competition was held over the weekend of 11-13 September. The Friday evening was full of songs and poetry. A special guest was young Amy Ryan who won the “Welcome back to Tamworth’ song writing award 2020 .

    The One Minute poem was won by Andrew Ryan.

    Saturday competition results:

    Overall Grand Champion and winner of the Logan’s Legacy award: Andrew Pulsford. Andrew won the Modern and placed second in the Classical and the Original.

    The Logan’s Legend award Highest points in the Logan group went to Janine Keating who won the Classical and placed second in the Modern. Janine also received the Perpetual Trophy given every year to the top Logan Legend.

    Bob Kettle won the Original and placed third in the Modern.

    Paddy OBrien placed third in the Modern and Original 

    Mike Gilmore from North Pine got a third in the Novice and the Classical.

    Don Macqueen won the Logan’s Luck. (This award goes to the highest point scorer in the Logan group who has not won an Open.

    The Novice was won by Ruth Savage

    Favourite ‘Logan Lag’ was won by Paddy O’Brien. 

    Written was won by Brenda Joy.

    Great work by relative newcomers, Mike and Andrew, as well as vintage poet, Paddy, and of course young Amy Ryan who we all hope to hear much from at future gigs.